Hotel Life

AB NJ Hotel

Hotel life is…interesting. I use the word interesting because that’s exactly what it is. It can be good interesting, or it can be bad interesting.

When assigned to a travel project, it is up to you to book your own travel arrangements and hotels. Sometimes the project will have a preferred hotel due to close proximity to the client sight. Other times, it’s completely up to you.

The first week of my first project was a little short notice, so the only hotel I could book was about 35 minutes away from the client site by car. Could’ve been worse. However, I knew I’d be on that project for a few months so I booked in advance and found a good hotel only 10 minutes away.

After staying at a hotel week after week you start to have preferences you never thought you’d have. For instance, food at a hotel can be both good and bad, but it’s always expensive. Therefore, I once booked a hotel because it was very close to a supermarket. I then called the hotel to ensure the rooms had mini-fridges. I brought 3 days’ worth of groceries upon check-in. I’d return every night and my food was nice and fresh.

Only once did I make a fatal mistake. The temperature dial in the fridge ranged from light blue to dark blue. I thought to myself, “okay, light blue looks like ice, and dark blue looks like water, so light blue must be colder.” I was wrong. I arrived back at the hotel that night to find some liquefied yogurt with a funky smell.

Other than food, hotel experiences can vary. For instance, a fellow CbDer friend of mine was once on a project where the project team members all stayed at the same hotel. They would often hold meetings in the hotel lobby even after a full day of work on the client site. That all depends on the nature of the project work and the team.

Staying at a hotel during the week has another effect: It separates work-life and personal-life. Some people love this, others don’t. On one hand, you are able to designate your time during the week solely to work, and then when you are home on the weekend, it’s all about leisure time. Fridays usually act as the transition day, as you are still expected to work a full day but many projects allow you to work from home or from your local office.

Traveling to hotels makes you appreciate a lot of things, one of which is the temperature of your refrigerator.

Thanks for “checking-in,”

Austin

Austin Begin Photo Headshot

 

Leave a Reply

