Greetings from the U.S.!

Sometimes I describe myself as an “adventurous planner.” “Adventurous” because I love looking for new challenges in new (geographical) environments and “planner” because I enjoy a structured intellectual approach in uncoventional professional and personal settings. Throughout my life, my avid curiosity pushed me to explore: first, I immigrated to the U.S.A. from Slovakia with my family when I was 12 to gain better education, later I pursued a degree in Classics and History at Barnard College, Columbia University in New York City, and I recently returned to the U.S. after completing a Fulbright Fellowship in Yalova, Turkey. Looking for a fresh challenge, I applied to IBM’s Consulting by Degrees program, hoping the business problems that lead our clients to seek out IBM will be the intellectual adventure that satisfies my curiosity. While not directly engaging with a client’s challenge right now, my current project with Cloud Business Solutions enabled me to develop a more holistic understanding of the various ways of resolving clients’ problems in the cognitive era. Being able to participate in the technological transformation due to the popularization of the Cloud is an exhilarating experience, one that any intellectual adventurer would cherish. I truly appreciate my current position and I hope to build on my experience with the Cloud in the future, perhaps on a Watson project, since Watson itself floats on the Cloud. Restless as I am, I pursue a variety of hobbies outside of work (good work/life balance is key to success, as most studies show) and these include learning Portuguese, reading, jogging, aikido, and baking delicious treats.

/Zuzana Giertlova

index

Leave a Reply

